Kanu Nwankwo Named In 50 World’s Soccer Legends List

African soccer icon, Kanu Nwankwo has been named in The International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS)’s 50 World’s Soccer Legends List. This honour comes 4 and 5 years after he hung his boots for country and club.

Football heavyweights also featured in the list are Edson Arantes do Nascimento (Pele), Diego Armando Maradona, Edson Arantes Do Nascimento (PELE) of Brazil.

IFFSH Top 50 list of Legends

Arthur Antunes Coimbra (Zico) of Brazil

‎Late Manuel Francisco dos Santos (Garrincha) of Brazil

Ronaldo Luís Nazário De Lima (Ronaldo) of Brazil

Franz Anton Beckenbauer (Beckenbauer) of Germany

GERD MÜLLER (Gerd) of Germany

Lothar Matthäus of Germany

Hendrik Johannes Cruijff (Johan Cruyff) of Netherlands

Marco Van Basten (Marco) of Netherlands

Ruud Gullit OON of Netherlands

Bobby Charlton (Bobby) of United Kingdom

David Robert Joseph Beckham (David Beckham) of United Kingdom

Late STANLEY MATTHEWS of United Kingdom

Diego Armando Maradona Franco (Maradona) of Argentina ‎

Late Alfredo Stéfano Di Stéfano Laulhé of Argentina


Sun Jihai of China

Mahmoud El-Khatib (Bibo) of Egypt

Mohamed Aboutrika of Egypt

Michel Platini of France

Zinedine Yazid Zidane (Zizou) of France

Antonio Carbajal (Tota) of Mexico

Hugo Sánchez Márquez (Sánchez) of Mexico

Eusébio da Silva Ferreira (Eusébio) of Portugal

Luís Filipe Madeira Caeiro Figo (Luis Figo) of Portugal

Dino Zoff of Italy

Roberto Baggio of Italy

Mustapha Rabah Madjer (Rabah Madjer) of Algeria

Albert Roger Mooh Miller (Roger Milla) of Cameroon

Late Ferenc Puskás of Hungary

Baichung Bhutia (Bhutia) of India

Ali Daei of Iran

Hidetoshi Nakata of Japan

Cha Bum-kun (Tscha Bum) of South Korea

Jasem Yaqoub Sultan Al-Besara of Kuwait

George Tawlon Manneh Oppong Ousman Weah (George Weah) of Liberia

Wynton Alan Whai Rufer of New Zealand

Nwankwo Kanu of Nigeria

José Luis Félix Chilavert González (José Luis Chilavert) of Paraguay

Late Lev Ivanovich Yashin (Lev Yashin) of Russia

Majed Ahmed Abdullah Al-Mohammed (Majed Abdullah) of Saudi Arabia

Francisco Gento Lopez (Paco) of Spain

Tanju Çolak of Turkey

Oleh Volodymyrovych Blokhin of Ukraine

Late Juan Alberto Schiaffino Villano (Pepe) of Uruguay

Landon Timothy Donovan of USA

Lucas Valeriu Ntuba Radebe (Lucas Radebe) of South Africa

Ryan Joseph Giggs (Ryan Giggs) of Wales

Unarguably one of Nigeria’s most decorated footballers, Kanu kicked off his career in 1993 when he featured for the Golden Eaglets in a Fifa U17 World Championship qualifier in Kaduna.
He has laced his boots for teams like Ajax, Inter Milan, Arsenal, West Brom and Portsmouth.

His list of honors

U17 World Cup winner- 1993

Uefa Champions League -1995

Uefa Super Cup- 1995

Uefa Cup- 1998

Dutch League title- 1994, 95, 96

African Footballer of the year- 1996, 1999

English Premier League – 2002, 2004

English FA Cup -2002, 2003, 2008

Olympic Gold- 1996

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat