Nigeria internationals,  Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi were named Most promising talent and African youth player of the year respectively at the 2016 edition of the GLO-CAF Awards which took place at Abuja, Nigeria yesterday January 5, 2017.  Riyad Mahrez was named the winner of the 2016 Glo-CAF African Player of the Year award. The Algerian  beat Gabon striker and last year’s winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to second place, while Senegal’s Saido Mane finished third.

African Player of the Year
Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)
African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)
Most Promising Talent
Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)
Youth Player of the Year
Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal)
Coach of the Year
Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Club of the Year
Mamelodi Sundowns
National Team of the Year
Women’s National Team of the Year
Referee of the Year
Bakary Papa GASSAMA
Football Leader of the Year
Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation
Legend Award
Laurent POKOU, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire
Emilienne MBANGO, Former player of Cameroon

Meanwhile in a very disappointing twist, no Nigerian made made CAF’s Africa Best 11.