Another Ballon d’Or award is upon us. And perennial rivals, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are in the front seat. Noticeably, there’s an increase in this year’s number of nominees (23-30). The list will be whittled down to three, and the winner and the final placings will be revealed on Dec. 13 by France Football


30-man Shortlist

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City),

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund),

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid),

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus),

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid),

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City),

Paulo Dybala (Juventus),

Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid),

Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid),

Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli/Juventus),

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United),

Andres Iniesta (Barcelona),

Koke (Atletico Madrid),

Toni Kroos (Real Madrid),

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich),

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham),

Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City),

Lionel Messi (Barcelona),

Luka Modric (Real Madrid),

Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich),

Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich),

Neymar (Barcelona),

Dimitri Payet (West Ham),

Pepe (Real Madrid),

Paul Pogba (Juventus/Manchester United),

Rui Patricio (Sporting),

Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid),

Luis Suarez (Barcelona),

Jamie Vardy (Leicester City),

 Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)