Switzerland today unveiled its provisional squad for the Euro 2016 tournament. And there were a not-so shocking omissions. Leicester City midfielder, Gokhan Inler has been left out for failing to impress for the foxes this season.

“I’m very, very sorry for Gokhan. He is a great player and a great
character,” said Petkovic. But I have to remain consistent in my acting
and thinking.”

“Competitive rhythm is one of the most important considerations for a squad in such an important tournament.”
 Swiss coach Vladimir Petkovic said. 


Goalkeepers: Roman Burki (Borussia Dortmund), Marwin Hitz (Augsburg), Yvon Mvogo (Young Boys), Yann Sommer (Borussia Monchengladbach).
Defenders: Johan Djourou (Hamburg), Nico Elvedi (Borussia Monchengladbach), Michael Lang (Basel), Stephan Lichtsteiner (Juventus), Francois Moubandje (Toulouse), Ricardo Rodriguez (Wolfsburg), Fabian Schar (Hoffenheim), Philippe Senderos (Grasshoppers), Steve von Bergen (Young Boys), Silvan Widmer (Udinese)
Midfielders: Valon Behrami (Watford), Blerim Dzemaili (Genoa), Gelson Fernandes (Rennes), Fabian Frei (Mainz), Xherdan Shaqiri (Stoke), Renato Steffen (Basel), Shani Tarashaj (Grasshoppers), Granit Xhaka (Borussia Monchengladbach), Denis Zakaria (Young Boys) Luca Zuffi (Basel)
Fowards: Erin Derdiyok (Kasimpasa), Breel Embolo (Basel), Admir Mehmedi (Bayer Leverkusen), Haris Seferovic (Eintracht Frankfurt).