For fielding overage players against Sudan, Kenya U20 team have disqualified from the 2017 AFCON Qualifiers by the committee of the competition.
The players ; Erick Ouma Otien, Nicholas Kipkirui, Boniface Muchiri, Eugene Moses Mukangula and Theodore Kibet Kilele were all born in 1996 whereas the competition was open to players born on or after 1 January 1997. 
In a letter addressed to the CEO of FKF, CAF General Secretary, Hicham El Amrani said, “The Organizing Committee after its findings concluded that the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) clearly violated article 40.11 of the competition regulations which states: ‘a team which allows a non-qualified or a suspended player to take part in a direct knock-out match shall lose the match and shall be eliminated from the competition, even in the absence of protests’.

“Consequently, the U-20 Kenyan National team is disqualified from the preliminaries of the AFCON U20 – Zambia 2017 and the U20 Sudan National team is qualified to the next round.”