City star, Yaya Toure has won the BBC African Footballer of the year award. He
defeated Yacine Brahimi, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Andre Ayew and Sadio Mane
to clinch the coveted prize in London. He has also joined the likes of Kanu
and Jay Jay Okocha who have won the award twice,
having won it in 2013.

“I am very proud. To receive this dedication from the
fans is unbelievable. Also I want to pay tribute to the other nominees. African
football is growing up, becoming much better and we have fantastic young
players coming through now. I am delighted and very happy. And as an African
player, I want to lead all my younger brothers to be successful in the future.
When I was a kid I was always dreaming of being an important player. I have
sacrificed a lot. I will continue to try to win a trophy every year, I will
fight to win a personal trophy.”
The Ivorian told BBC