President Muhammadu Buhari has directed The Nigerian Immigration Service to withdraw the official and diplomatic passports of former Nigerian public office holders issued to them while in office.
Officials affected include former governors, former ministers, former senators, former members of the House of Representatives, former members of state Houses of Assembly, ‎former commissioners, former special advisers/special assistants, former chairmen/deputy chairmen of local government areas, all retired heads of parastatals and retired public servants.


The Comptroller-General of the Immigration Service, Martin Abeshi, said in a statement today.”These categories of persons are hereby informed that these passports which were previously held by them have been revoked and should return them to the Nigeria Immigration Service Headquarters Sauka Abuja with immediate effect,” 

“Failure to comply with this directive will amount to an offence under the Immigration Act 2015. Such unauthorized possession will be impounded at our control posts on arrival or departure.”

The Federal Government weeks back also  directed the Immigration Service to retrieve all valid diplomatic and official passports from all persons not entitled to hold them.
“The attention of the Federal Government has been drawn to the fact that some Nigerians who are not entitled to hold diplomatic and official passports are in possession of these documents,” a statement by Yusuf Isiaka,the Director of Press, Federal Ministry of Interior reads.