Real Madrid talisman, Cristiano Ronaldo has emerged winner of the 2014 Ballon d’Or award.

The Portuguese who was nominated alongside Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer has won his third gong for the second consecutive year. 

The Portuguese who had a tremendous year scoring 61 goals for club and country thanked all those who voted for him.

 “I would like to thank all those who voted for me. My coach, my fellow players, my club.” He said.