Toure receives 2013 BBC African Footballer of the Year Award
Manchester City/Ivory Coast midfielder, Yaya Toure has piped out Nigeria’s Victor Moses and Mikel Obi, Pitroipa, Gervinho and Solomon Kalou to win the prestigious BBC African Footballer of the Year award. The elated UN ambassador who has been nominated five consecutive years told BBC Sport it’s a fantastic achievement.
“I don’t think there has ever been as many quality African players in top-level international football as there are now:
Aubameyang, Pitroipa, Mikel, Moses, Solomon Kalou, Gervinho… we have fantastic players. I also think African football is improving and that means a lot to us. And as an African, I’m very happy.” He added.
The former Barcelona star also appreciated his teeming fans for their unflinching support. “Thank you to all the fans around the world who continue to support me. It shows how much fans love you and appreciate your job as well. It’s something special because it’s not the vote of the manager or the club or the captain of the national
team, it’s just the fans. When you have a lot of fans behind you, it’s always
amazing. And I’m very happy as it is the fans who have given it to me – so I’m very appreciative.”