The nominees for the 2011 BBC African footballer of the year award was revealed on friday, 18th November.

The criteria for determining the nominees include individual skill, technical ability, teamwork, consistency, impact on results and fair play. The title was won last year by Ghanaian player, Asamoah Gyan.
African football fans are expected to start voting for the best online and via text to a designated number as voting lines would close Dec 9, the outright winner will be announced on December 16.

1) Andre Ayew (Ghana and Marseille)
2) Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon and Anzhi)
3) Seydou Keita (Mali and Barcelona)
4) Gervinho (CIV and Arsenal)
5) Yaya Toure (CIV and Man City)