No Nigerian player was shortlisted for the Confederation of African Football (CAF)2011 African Player of the Year and Best African Player on the Continent awards.

Nigerians in particular were looking forward to seeing the names of Chelsea midfielder, Mikel Obi, Osaze Odemwingie of West Brom FC and Eyimba's Kalu Uche who are top footballers in the country.

Nigeria has won five times. Rashidi Yekini remains the first of four Nigerians to win the award while Kanu Nwankwo won two of the five, came second and third on five and nine occassions respectively.


1) Adel Taarabt (Morocco and Q.P.R.)

2) Andre Ayew (Ghana and Marseille)

3) Asamoah Gyan (Ghana and Al-Ain)

4) Didier Drogba (CIV and Chelsea)

5) Kevin-Prince Boateng (Ghana and Milan)

6) Moussa Sow (Senegal and Lille)

7) Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon and Anzhi)

8) Seydou Keita (Mali and Barcelona)

9) Gervinho (CIV and Arsenal)

10) Yaya Toure (CIV and Man City)

Source: Complete Sports